Home > Rheumatology


Benign joint hypermobility syndrome

Brighton diagnostic criteria

Major Criteria

Minor Criteria

The BJHS is diagnosed in the presence two major criteria, or one major and two minor criteria, or four minor criteria. Two minor criteria will suffice where there is an unequivocally affected first-degree relative.

BJHS is excluded by presence of Marfan or Ehlers-Danlos syndromes (other than the EDS Hypermobility type (formerly EDS III) as defined by the Ghent 1996 (8) and the Villefranche 1998 (9) criteria respectively). Criteria Major 1 and Minor 1 are mutually exclusive as are Major 2 and Minor 2.

Beighton criteria

The Beighton modification of the Carter & Wilkinson scoring system has been used for many years as an indicator of widesparead hypermobility. A high Beighton score by itself does not mean that an individual has HMS. It simply means that the individual has widespread hypermobility. Diagnosis of Hypermobility Syndrome or HMS should be made using the Brighton Criteria.

The Beighton score is calculated as follows:

Score one point if you can bend and place you hands flat on the floor without bending you knees.

Score one point for each knee that will bend backwards.

Score one point for each elbow that will bend backwards.

Score one point for each thumb that will bend backwards to touch the forearm.

Score one point for each hand when you can bend the little finger back beyond 90.

If you are able to perform all of above manoeuvres then you have a maximum score of 9 points.


Joint hypermobility syndrome (2010)